Mauritius Travel Guide Community | Log in | Register

Subscribe to RSS | Email

Mauritius Government

Published on by mori

2.85 ouf of 5
1 2 3 4 5

Vote this post

As a democratic state, this island has an every 5 years elected Mauritius government. In May 2010, these elections were held in the 20 mainland constituencies and in the one that cover the Rodrigues Island. All over the history, the elections have a tendency of being a contest between the important parties’ coalitions. Mauritius government had the highest rank for sustainable economic opportunity and for safety and rule of low, in 2011, according to the Ibrahim Index of African Governance.

The Mauritius government also earned the index overall’s highest score, and occupied the second place in human development and participation and human rights. According to the proclamation of the 1968 constitution, the island is a democratic state with the constitution as land’s supreme law. The people’s freedoms and fundamental rights are guaranteed by the constitution. The Mauritius government’s political structure has a pattern that follows the British system’s model. Just like in Britain, the prime minister is chosen by the political party with parliamentary majority.

The prime minister and the cabinet are the wielders of the political power. The parliament of the National Assembly is the prime law-making body of the country, consisting of representatives that are elected from 23 member constituencies and one or two members of the Rodrigues district. The Parliament can remain the same for maximum 5 years, if it is not dissolved by the Mauritius government’s prime minister of by a no-confidence vote. According to the constitutional amendment, the first assembly reckons an 8 years de facto term.

The assembly has the responsibility for appropriations and legislation and can amend the first law of the country by a 2/3 or ¾ majority. A titular governor presided on the parliament in the British monarch’s name from the island’s independence in 1968 and till 1992 when the island became republic. Now, the governor general’s role is assumed by the president, ratified by the parliament and appointed by the Mauritius government’s prime minister. The constitution offers for 3 main commissions and an ombudsman.

The 3 commissions are: the police service commission, the public services commission and the legal service commission. These commissions oversee the Mauritius government officials’ appointment while the mission of the ombudsman is to investigate the official misconduct. The legal system of Mauritius has the English law and the Napoleonic Code as basics. The judicial system is headed by the Supreme Court and owns the power of interpreting the first law of the country and of judging the legislation’s constitutionality.

The chief justice is appointed by the president and by the prime minister and helps at the selection of other 5 court judges. The Supreme Court serves as Court of Civil Appeal and Court of Criminal Appeal. The island refers the constitutional and legal matters to the British Privy Council. The local government is not specified by the constitution. Port Louis has one city council while the 4 townships-Vacoas Phoenix, Quatre Bornes, Curepipe and Beau-Bassi-Rose Hill- have each a municipal council.