Mauritius Travel Guide Community | Log in | Register

Subscribe to RSS | Email

Mauritius Elections

Published on by mori

3.05 ouf of 5
1 2 3 4 5

Vote this post

The Mauritius election took place on May 5, 2010, being won by a coalition that includes the Militant Socialist Movement (with Pravind Jugnauth as leader), the Mauritius Social Democrat Party (with Xavier Duval as leader) and the Mauritius Labor Party (with Navin Ramgoolam as leader). They won the Mauritius elections with a majority of 41 seats in Parliament.

The second place was won by the Mauritius Militant Movement (with Paul Berenger as leader), with 18 seats. Other two seats were occupied by the Rodrigues Movement and one seat by the Mauritius Solidarity Front. These Mauritius elections were the 9th since 1968 once with the country’s independence from UK. The alliance wining the Mauritius elections of 2010 is called the Alliance of the Future (Alliance de L’avenir) and the leader was Ramgoolam who allocated 35 seats to the Labor Part while the Socialist Movement had 18 seats and the Democrat Party 7.

Before the Mauritius elections, there were rumors about Berenger wining again the prime minister post he had between 2003 and 2005. He was the country’s first PM since the independence, without having South Africa origins. He led the Alliance of Heart (Alliance du Coeur) as reference to the Mauritius Militant Movement’s official logo, the alliance’s biggest party. Two seats were also competed for the Rodrigues based parties, with the Rodrigues Movement and the Rodrigues People’s Organization as the important parties.

The National Assembly of Mauritius has 62 seats that were contested during the Mauritius elections. Another 8 seats were designated by a commission under a various formula made to maintain a balance in the Parliament regarding the ethnic groups. To run for one of the seats, the candidates had to declare to which ethnic group they belong (‘general population’, Chinese, Muslim or Hindu). At the 2010 Mauritius elections, the 104 candidates refused to declare so they were disqualified and 529 candidates left for seats.

About 130 foreign observers were invited to monitor the entire voting process, observers from the Southern African Development Community and from the African Union. There were about 900.000 people eligible to participate to these Mauritius elections and the votes counting started on May 6, the results being expected in the same day’s afternoon. According to this counting, the Alliance de l’Avenir won 30% of votes being ahead in 40 seats and the other alliance, the Alliance du Coeur, was ahead in 19 seats.

The estimated turnout was of 78% compared with 81.5% in the Mauritius elections of 2005. It was also the lowest turnout in 34 years. According to the electoral commission, there were no complaints and everything went well with the voting process. Still, there were accusations of Paul Berenger of Mauritius Broadcasting Corporation abuse (a TV station owned by state).

His political opponents were also accused by him, of using the communalism in order to swing the votes, since he is part of Franco-Mauritian minority. The important subjects that were debated were the fraud, the constitutional and economic reform, ethnicity and corruption.