Mauritius Curepipe is a city situated in the island’s centre with 81.600 citizens in 2003. It is the second city as importance and size after the capital Port Louis. It is referred as the Central Plateau being situated at high elevation. The origins of the Mauritius Curepipe come from the French ‘curer sa pipe’ meaning ‘cleaning the pipe’.
Some historians say that the name of the city comes from the soldiers and travelers of the 19th century who came from Grand Port and Port Louis to refill the pipes in Mauritius Curepipe. Other historians say that the name comes from the late landowner from the 18th century. Mauritius Curepipe is also known as The Town of Light (La Ville Lumiere) because is the first island’s town to have electricity.
Being situated on the central plateau, the climate is temperate with humid and rainy summers and nice winters. The soil is rich and lush, the conifer woods around the city being a proof. Mauritius Curepipe was the host of various events like the 2008 Castel Beer Trophy with participants from countries like Reunion, Mayotte and Tanzania and the Indian Ocean Islands 6th games-JIOI (Jeux des Iles de L’Ocean Indian).
There are many school and study institutions such as the Royal College Curepipe, the Loreto College Curepipe, the Saint Joseph’s College, the Mauritius College and the Curepipe College. Among the Mauritius Curepipe attractions are: the botanical garden, created in 1870 and being the second biggest botanical garden on the island. The garden’s original goal was to gather many plants varieties that couldn’t acclimatized in the island’s regions with less temperate climate.
It has a smaller area compared with the Pamplemousses Garden (Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden) and it’s the house of world’s rarest palm trees, the Hyophorbe Amaricaulis unique specimen. Other attraction of the Mauritius Curepipe is the New George V Stadium, situated opposite to the Mauritius Broadcasting Corporation. If you plan to go to Mauritius Curepipe, don’t hesitate to visit the Carnegie Library, established in 1917 by the Carnegie Foundation.
The library is famous for its collection of manuscripts and for the collection of books from the Indian Ocean Island. If you want to see beautiful monuments in Mauritius Curepipe then visit the Town Hall which is also known as the Hotel de Ville. It was opened in 1902 and has a splendid and unique architecture. Actually, it is a duplicate of the well-known Malmaison of Moka, re-built in Mauritius Curepipe.
Each detail was taken into consideration in order to give the Hotel de Ville its splendor. Placed in the municipality’s compound, by the lake’s side, it used to dominate the Curepipe’s whole view. Being located in the Curepipe’s heart, close to the bus station, the access to it is very simple for all the people. The hotel was closed for some years to be renovated and its reopening was in September 1995. Today, the hotel is one of the most beautiful Mauritius Curepipe’s monuments and represents a combination of past and present.